The Journey

In 2006 I spend 4 months studying abroad in Rome, Italy.  Since nearly the day I returned, I have wanted to document the journey, just as Frodo did after his return to the Shire – this is my epic, such as it is.  (I even bought a red leather book that reminded me of his.)  These are my journals, emails, letters, drawings, photographs.  I don’t pretend that they are great pictures or even thrilling stories, but they are my memories and deserve to be recorded.  Much has changed in the past 9 years and I like to think that my time in Rome helped prompt some of those changes for the better; I am certainly a different person now that I was then and this present person would definitely do somethings differently, yet I wouldn’t go back and change anything that was.

As was well-said in one of my favorite movies, Under the Tuscan Sun:

“Any arbitrary turning along the way and I would be elsewhere.  I would be different.”

Here we go.

Emily_Vatican

Leave a Reply

